The John Connor Prize

John Connor The John Connor Prize is awarded annually to the student on the Coventry University Automotive Journalism MA degree course who produces the best final project. It was founded in 2013 as the MGMW Award.

John (right) was a veteran motoring writer, a former motor industry newspaper and magazine editor, and for some years was executive editor of Midland Weekly Media titles. He was a long-time MGMW member and served on the group’s committee.

The group renamed the award in his honour after his death in a road accident, for which he was blameless, in 2014.


2020 Michael Lear

2019 Sophie Middleton

2018 Khoi An Do

2017 Illya Verpraet

2016 Cameron Tait

2015 Jan Conesa Sagrera

2014 Sam Sheehan

2013 Max Prince