News from the MGMW

Gareth Butterfield joins the Midland Group

21 November 2023 motoring writer is the newest recruit to the ranks of MGMW members.

Ian Donaldson 1947-2022

31 October 2022

The Midland Group of Motoring Writers is sad to announce that its president and former chairman Ian Donaldson died on Saturday at the age of 75.

A stay in splendour for Ian and Jean

03 October 2022

Ian and Jean Donaldson enjoyed a stay at The Five Arrows in Waddesdon courtesy of MGMW to celebrate Ian's 25-year stint as group chairman

New Chairman and President for MGMW

10 May 2022

New MGMW roles for Andrew Noakes and Ian Donaldson.

Founding member Bob goes social

18 December 2021

ONE of the founding members of the Midland Group of Motoring Writers, Bob Maddox is moving from full membership to our social section.

New era for Nick Fletcher

13 May 2020

NICK Fletcher, one of the longest standing members of the Midland Group of Motoring Journalists has decided to hang up his crash helmet and put his driving gloves back in the drawer.

Motoring Memories rediscovered in David's lockdown 'clear-out'

17 April 2020

Day whatever of lockdown. Dispatched to loft with instructions to have a ‘clear-out’ writes David Duffy

Sir Stirling Moss recalled

14 April 2020

THE passing of Sir Stirling Moss rekindled memories for several Midland Group members who had briefly met the great man over the years.

Nick's life of crime

04 February 2020

Midland Group member Nick Fletcher manages to find time in a busy life between road tests and looking after rescue dogs to pen books with a distinctly criminal edge

Novel direction for MGMW member Russ

24 May 2019

I think it is fair to say that most journalists get the urge to write a book at some point

Student Khoi wins MGMW John Connor Prize

31 January 2019

Coventry University student Khoi An Do has been named the latest winner of the MGMW John Connor Prize.

Sweet sendoff for Vauxhall's Denis Chick

01 June 2018

Denis Chick has bowed out as director of communications for Vauxhall, taking a high calorie thank you

MGMW member nominated for national award

15 March 2018

Midland Group member David Duffy is among a list of star-studded journalists shortlisted for the prestigious Newspress Awards 2018.

Belgian student wins John Connor Prize

16 January 2018

The winner of the 2017 John Connor Prize is Illya Verpraet from Belgium.

Skoda Octavia is our Green Apple 2017 winner

16 November 2017

The Skoda Octavia has taken top honours at the 2017 Green Apple Awards.

MGMW's Enda Mullen named business journalist of the year

03 November 2017

MGMW member and events secretary, Enda Mullen, has been named Business Journalist of the Year at the annual Midlands Media Awards. He was also highly commended in the News Reporter of the Year (Daily) category.

MGMW plans social media training

01 November 2017

The Midland Group of Motoring Writers is to launch a series of social media training courses to help members keep up-to-date with the latest developments in the rapidly changing online media world.

Ironbridge to host late summer BBQ

16 August 2017

he MGMW summer barbecue, a new event on the social calendar, is to be held at the Valley Hotel in the historic Ironbridge Gorge.

MGMW member wins UK blog award

09 May 2017

The Carwitter blog, owned and published by MGMW member Adam Tudor Lane, has been named top individual automotive blog in the UK Blog awards 2017.

Suzuki to host group AGM

05 April 2017

The MGMW’s 2017 AGM is to be hosted by Suzuki as part of a driving weekend for members and their partners

Young writers take top places in 2017 Phil awards

20 February 2017

Scotland and Norway featured as perfect driving destinations in the winning entries for the Midland Group of Motoring Writers' 2017 award in memory of a member who mixed cars and countries for a living

MGMW launches 2017 young writer award

10 January 2017

The Midland Group of Motoring Writers has announced details of the 2017 Phil awards for budding motoring journalists.

Cameron Tait wins MGMW John Connor Aard

20 December 2016

The winner of the 2016 John Connor Award is Cameron Tait, who graduated from Coventry University in November

Ford stalwart honoured at MGMW lunch

14 December 2016

Ford stalwart, Bob Wright, and his wife Bev were guests of honour at the annual Midland Group Christmas lunch

Renault Zoe takes 2016 Green Apple award

16 November 2016

The all-electric Renault Zoe has taken top honours at the 2016 Green Apple Awards.

MGMW members conquer RideLondon100

22 August 2016

Two members of MGMW were among the 26,000 amateur cyclists who took to the streets of London at the end of July for the RideLondon100 event.

Awards keep coming for former Phils winner

18 July 2016

Former Phils award winner William Core (18) is continuing to gain recognition in the automotive and design industries

Chairman thanks Swift Gallery for hosting AGM

18 July 2016

Ten members of the MGMW made the trip to Stoke-on-Trent to attend the 2016 AGM and enjoy the fantastic motor racing photographic collection at The Swift Gallery.

Two young writers collect Phil awards

20 June 2016

Two budding young motoring writers have been named winners of the 2016 Phil awards and have collected their prizes from MGMW Chairman, Ian Donaldson.

Slim-line chairman in cut-down car

16 May 2016

MGMW chairman, Ian Donaldson, has visibly shrunk over the past couple of years so he had no difficulty squeezing his new slim-line frame into this cut-down Mini.

Evo's Sam Sheehan is MGMW award winner

20 November 2014

Evo magazine staff writer Sam Sheehan is the inaugural winner of the MGMW John Connor Award

MGMW votes in 2014 Green Apple awards

13 November 2014

MGMW members have voted, once again, for the winners in the Green Apple Awards which celebrate cars that mix real world economy with driving pleasure